Fieldbus Foundation Scholarships Awarded

The scholarships honor the memory of James O. Gray, a long-time leader in the Fieldbus Foundation.

The Fieldbus Foundation has announced the 2006 recipients of the James O. Gray-Fieldbus Foundation Educational Scholarship. The program honors the memory of James O. (Jim) Gray, a long-time leader in the Fieldbus Foundation who passed away in 2002. It establishes a perpetual $250,000 endowment fund providing awards to eligible students studying industrial automation.

The 2006 scholarship recipients include:

Dinh Quang Lam, Singapore Polytechnic, Singapore. A native of Vietnam, Dinh Quang Lam will graduate from Singapore Polytechnic in 2006 with a degree in Electrical and Computer Control Engineering. His educational background includes the use of fieldbus technology in pilot plant applications. He has been on Singapore Polytechnic’s Director’s Honor Roll for two consecutive years. He is seeking a career in the instrumentation and control industry and plans to attend a university in Singapore to obtain an Electrical Engineering degree.

Gias Ahmed, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT), Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Enrolled in the Industrial Instrumentation Technology program at SAIT, Gias Ahmed has more than 13 years of experience working in Bangladesh’s natural gas transmission, distribution and utility industries. He has been involved with computerized natural gas metering systems, and is skilled in the installation, commissioning and maintenance of gas regulating and metering equipment. Married and a father of two, Ahmed hopes to expand his knowledge of industrial instrumentation technology by attending SAIT.

Shawn Loonam, Lee College, Baytown, Texas. As president of Lee College’s ISA Student Section, Shawn Loonam has demonstrated a strong interest in instrumentation and control technology. He is studying for and Associate of Applied Science degree, and believes that fieldbus technology is becoming the preferred means of communication in the instrumentation field. IN addition to his academic pursuits, Shawn serves as vice president of public relations and a senator for Phi Theta Kappa—the honors society for two-year colleges.

“The James O. Gray-Fieldbus Foundation Scholarship Fund is honored to award these scholarships for a fourth consecutive year,” says Fieldbus Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer Richard Timoney. “The foundation and scholarship recipients are thankful for the donations from industrial automation industry members around the world, whose support is keeping the technology strong.”

More in Home