Levels Of Integration

May 4, 2009
Integrated safety and control in the process industries can be implemented at a variety of levels, depending what individual companies find acceptable.

According to ARC Advisory Group Inc., in Dedham, Mass., there are four levels of integration: separate, interfaced, integrated and common. Dave Collins, product manager of machine safety products at vendor Schneider Electric, in Palatine, Ill., expands on these different levels of integration, adding one:

• Safety rated communication networks that tie the safety into the control system, but maintain a separate system
• Communications networks rated for communicating both standard control and safety-rated information on the same communications cable at the same time
• Safety-rated programmable devices that remain separate from the control system
• Programmable logic controllers (PLCs) that are designed and approved for having both standard control and safety-rated control in the rack, and work together to manage these functions
• Combinations of any of the above.

Related Feature - Integrated Safety Systems Winning OutTo read the feature article relating to this story, go towww.automationworld.com/feature-5491.

Subscribe to Automation World's RSS Feeds for Feature Articles

Sponsored Recommendations

Understanding and Using E-Stops

E-stops, or emergency stop switches, are used to ensure machine as well as personnel safety. They are used to provide a consistent and predictable failsafe response on a wide ...

Demystifying motor disconnect switches: What are they and how are they used?

From conveyor belts to drum mixers, motors are used in virtually every industrial application to drive machinery. Equipment downtime is the main motivation behind monitoring and...

Full Line of DIN Rail Terminal Blocks Video

Altech offers an extensive line of DIN Rail Terminal Blocks including all major Connection Technologies available in the industry to meet requirements for a vast variety of applications...

The Value of Integrating DIN Rail Cylindrical Fuse Holders Into Your Designs

What short circuit currents do I have to consider when purchasing a DIN rail cylindrical fuse holder? That data is available from the manufacturer. For example, Altech cylindrical...